skip to Main Content
Murawski And Daly Awarded AAAS Fellow Distinction

Murawski and Daly Awarded AAAS Fellow Distinction

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and is an international non-profit organization “dedication to advancing science for the benefit of all people.”

According to AAAS, “These individuals have been elevated to this rank because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.” The gold and blue rosette pin awarded each new Fellow. Courtesy American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The Fellows from USF are:

Professor Kendra L. Daly, Ph.D., College of Marine Science;

Dean and Professor Jacqueline Eaby Dixon, Ph.D., College of Marine Science;

Professor Steven A. Murawski, Ph.D., College of Marine Science.

Daly: “For distinguished contributions to the field of ocean science, particularly for advancing knowledge of Antarctic marine food webs and ecosystem dynamics in ice covered seas.”

Jacqueline E. Dixon: “For distinguished contributions to the fields of marine science and geology.”

Murawski: “For distinguished contributions to the fields of fisheries and marine ecosystem science, particularly for theoretical and empirical contributions to understanding the dynamics of exploited ecosystems.”

AAAS will present its official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin, representing science and engineering, in February at its annual AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. The formal announcement appears in the AAAS News & Notes section of the Nov. 25 issue of “Science” magazine.

For the full AAAS press release, click here.

Back To Top